It is a rare occasion that a newspaper IS the news of the day

We hope to become your new source of news, information and features about the people and places in the greater Olney area,

Zucker named chair of influential Capital Budget Subcommittee

by Judith Hruz


District 14 Sen. Craig J. Zucker of Brookeville is chair of the Capital Budget Subcommittee, a key position in the Maryland State Senate.

The subcommittee is part of the powerful Senate Budget and Taxation Committee, of which Zucker has been a member since 2019.

He had been vice chair of the subcommittee.

“I’m very honored,” Zucker (D) said.

Senate President William C. Ferguson (D-Dist. 46) of Baltimore on Aug. 2 announced new Senate leadership and committee assignments following the resignation of former Sen. Douglas J.J. Peters, who had represented District 23 in Prince George’s County and was chair of the Capital Budget Subcommittee.

Peters was appointed to the University of Maryland Board of Regents.

The new Senate leadership appointments took effect immediately.

The leadership changes also include the announcement of Sen. Nancy J. King (D-Dist. 39) of Montgomery County as chair of the Education, Business and Administration Subcommittee, Sen. James C. Rosapepe (D-Dist. 21) of Prince George’s and Anne Arundel counties as Senate chair of the Spending Affordability Committee, and Sen. Michael A. Jackson (D-Dist. 27) of Calvert County moving to the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee.

Jackson was also named a member of the Pensions and Public Safety, Transportation and Environment Subcommittees.

Other changes include:

Sen. Shelly Hettleman (D-Dist. 11) of Baltimore County as vice chair of the Rules Committee;

Sen. Cory V. McCray (D-Dist. 45) of Baltimore City as vice chair of the Capital Budget Subcommittee;

Sen. Obie Patterson (D-Dist. 26) of Prince George’s County as a member of the Executive Nominations Committee;

Sen. Johnny Ray Salling (R-Dist. 6) of Baltimore County as a member of the Spending Affordability Committee; and

Sen. Sarah K. Elfreth (D-Dist. 30) of Anne Arundel County as a member of the Capital Budget Subcommittee.

“These committee assignments reflect the depth of knowledge and experience in the Senate,” Ferguson said in his announcement. “I have full faith that these Senators will excel in their roles as the Senate continues to move forward on important priorities for the upcoming fiscal year.”

Advertise With Us

The Greater Olney News reaches more than 20,000 homes and businesses through the U.S. Postal Service and hundreds more are dropped at businesses and popular gathering spots.

For a media kit, deadlines, rates and other advertising information, call 240-454-5648.

Read More